Friday Recap–100 Words & Multimedia

Many of you have started playing around with the 100 Words exercise; such interesting results from Cloe’s MAPS topic from Alex R, Aneliya, Annabelle, Cloe, Dickie, Jen, Jessica, Sally, Ting, and yours truly. I’m not sure what happened to the rest of you (I suppose Friday isn’t the best day to begin something during J-term…) but let’s really get moving now. I’m going to propose the second topic (We’ll go up the list instead of down as Dickie seems to have forgotten he was next, though he did write a second post.) Sunday’s topic is FURNITURE.

I very much enjoyed taking the multimedia writing tour with you all on Friday and having Will and Zoey share their tales of multimedia as contemporary creative nonfiction. What a time to be starting writing lives–ah, the smorgasbord of tools of expression, connection and publication available to you, tools that within your young hands, as you saw from the remarkable student work shown Friday, will yield astonishing results. Remember that for our modest project you can venture off screen and into comics, writing installations, mash-ups–whatever strikes a chord with you for this draft of a multimedia essay as long as you include text and/or a narrative voiceover within the piece.

New Feedback Groups:

Allie, Marietou, Dickie, Abishek

Ting, Annabelle, Jen, Sally

Jessica, Cloe, Aneliya, Ashleigh

Kyle, Alex R, Alex Y, Miriam

Looking forward to seeing everyone at my house this afternoon–meet at Adirondack Circle at 5:20.

9 Responses

  1. One of the things I’ve enjoyed about the 100 words project (both writing and reading them) is the sense of mystery at the end of each piece. Because the author has so little room to explain or enhance, the reader is left to imagine, dig and work at the meaning and the root of the author’s experience. It’s like catching a glimpse into someone else’s brain without actually being able to open it up and peer inside. As a writer, it forces me to cut back on explaining – a good exercise in showing narrative restraint. I’m curious as to whether other people love the process or hate the process (or maybe a bit of both).

  2. I enjoy the process, but my enjoyment actually has very little to do with the fact that the pieces that we’re writing are 100 words long. Instead, the experience for me is enjoyable because of the prescribed topics. They are prompting me to remember and pay attention to aspects of my life that I would probably let fall by the wayside. I think it’s a fantastic exercise (for me as a writer and for me as a life-liver) to start being more attentive to my own life.

  3. I feel as though I have this unusual internal sense of when I’ve used 100 words, and I don’t think it’s just a visual/spacing thing. I mean, so far (small sample size, I know) my margin of error is about six words…weird. In my writing I tend to use too many words, and then I must resort to tricky margin-fiddling or (often welcome) adjective-cutting to fit it all. Maybe this process will serve as a much needed word diet/detox…

  4. And today’s topic for 100 words is about…lightning

  5. I am both challenged and fascinated to try to figure out ways to delineate a story from start to finish without sucking all the life and blood from it because of the 100-word limit. Clearly, my the 100-word stories are not as powerful as their prospective 1-page versions but to try to get close to making every single word compress and convey the meaning of 3 words is a skill that I am excited to master.

  6. I agree with what everyone has said so far. This exercise is interesting because it is helping me to remember random little memories that I had completely forgotten about. It also is challenging for me because I tend to ramble on and not make my point. In 100 words I am forced to state my point early on. I think this will really help me to be more concise in my writing.

  7. So used to have this old couch. It had a rough texture to it and was never the most attractive piece of furniture around. It hid in different places in our house, children’s playroom, spare bedroom, basement. That couch sure had a long life. As a kid I jumped on it, over it, off it, made forts out of its cushions. As a teen, I kicked my feet up on it while surfing the web. Finally, the day came to give it away. I had strange feelings of attachment to that couch. (Secret: I saved an armrest cover for posterity.)

  8. Someone warned us to be careful when buying sheets because the beds in the States tend to be longer that the ones in Europe. I bet my mom, the worrywart she is, meticulously scoured all the stores to find the longest sheets, and when she finally did, she bought three sets. In the month prior to my departure, she would often fret whether they will fit. The first night at college, I put the sheets on my bed only to discover that my mom’s fears were not justified at all. However, my happiness was short-lived: they were not wide enough!

  9. Sweetie, it’s to diiiiie for. They make Adirondack chairs out of actual treeeeees. Come with us to the store, you’ll love it.

    I scowl. We get out of the rental car, but I am still exhausted. When my brother has a sour fit, he wins his battle. I get frustrated. My parents do not have the tolerance for discipline in a crowded car. They prefer to surrender than to endure the cacophony.

    The country furniture store smells of oak, cherry, and intoxicating pine. I breathe deeply, and collapse into a rocking chair made of an entire tree stump. Surprisingly comfortable.

Leave a Reply

